Are the scholarship websites legit? (fastweb etc)
Vocaboly.com Forum Index Vocaboly.com
Vocabulary builder software for SAT, TOEFL, GRE, GMAT and more
 
 FAQFAQ   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 
Google
 
Web www.vocaboly.com
Are the scholarship websites legit? (fastweb etc)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Vocaboly.com Forum Index -> soc.college.financial-aid
Author Message
Kimberly
Guest





Posted: Sun Feb 29, 2004 8:56 am    Post subject: Are the scholarship websites legit? (fastweb etc) Reply with quote

I am getting ready to start working towards a professional degree and
I am trying to figure out how to finance it. I have already
completed the FAFSA and am waiting to hear what loans I am eligible
for.

I found a link to a scholarship search service, but i am wondering if
it is legit.
http://www.finaid.org/scholarships/

I don't really feel comfortable giving them all my personal
information (like SS# etc) without at least first checking to see what
other people have to say about them.

Do people really get scholarship money from these mass scholarship
applications?

Thanks
Kim

ps. any other advice on getting scholarships would be great. I am a
non-traditional student, my husband works so we are not eligible for
grants or anything like that

Back to top
Steve Blank
Guest





Posted: Sun Feb 29, 2004 11:04 am    Post subject: Re: Are the scholarship websites legit? (fastweb etc) Reply with quote

Kimberly wrote:
Quote:
I am getting ready to start working towards a professional degree and
I am trying to figure out how to finance it. I have already
completed the FAFSA and am waiting to hear what loans I am eligible
for.

If you are a graduate student you can be eligible for up to $18,500 in
Stafford loans.
Quote:

I found a link to a scholarship search service, but i am wondering if
it is legit.
http://www.finaid.org/scholarships/

Finaid.org is a non-profit site that is well-respected within the
financial aid community - many colleges recommend it for aid info and
have links to it from their web sites. You should be able to trust any
site finaid.org refers you to.

Quote:

I don't really feel comfortable giving them all my personal
information (like SS# etc) without at least first checking to see what
other people have to say about them.

None of the search sites should be asking for any more personal
information than your date of birth (some scholarships are only for
certain age groups), and I can see no reason that any legitimate site
would ask for your social security number.

Quote:

Do people really get scholarship money from these mass scholarship
applications?

Many of my clients have got good leads from fastweb.com. They are simply
a data-base of scholarships (over 400,000 last time I checked) and they
ask only for the information necessary to match you to the scholarship's
requirements. It's the first place I advise my clients to start their
scholarship search, and it's totally free.
Quote:

Thanks
Kim

ps. any other advice on getting scholarships would be great. I am a
non-traditional student, my husband works so we are not eligible for
grants or anything like that

Actually, some schools and programs have grants specifically geared to
the non-traditional student - you should ask if such exist at the
schools you are applying to.

--
Steven B. Blank
College Financial Aid Consultants
29 Ives Hill Court
Cheshire, CT 06410
(203)250-7761
Back to top
Niyitanga
Guest





Posted: Sun Feb 29, 2004 9:59 pm    Post subject: Re: Are the scholarship websites legit? (fastweb etc) Reply with quote

Steve Blank <steve@randallblank.com> wrote in message news:<vxd0c.52689$1z2.26509@newssvr33.news.prodigy.com>...
Quote:
Kimberly wrote:
I am getting ready to start working towards a professional degree and
I am trying to figure out how to finance it. I have already
completed the FAFSA and am waiting to hear what loans I am eligible
for.

If you are a graduate student you can be eligible for up to $18,500 in
Stafford loans.

I found a link to a scholarship search service, but i am wondering if
it is legit.
http://www.finaid.org/scholarships/

Finaid.org is a non-profit site that is well-respected within the
financial aid community - many colleges recommend it for aid info and
have links to it from their web sites. You should be able to trust any
site finaid.org refers you to.


I don't really feel comfortable giving them all my personal
information (like SS# etc) without at least first checking to see what
other people have to say about them.

None of the search sites should be asking for any more personal
information than your date of birth (some scholarships are only for
certain age groups), and I can see no reason that any legitimate site
would ask for your social security number.


Do people really get scholarship money from these mass scholarship
applications?

Many of my clients have got good leads from fastweb.com. They are simply
a data-base of scholarships (over 400,000 last time I checked) and they
ask only for the information necessary to match you to the scholarship's
requirements. It's the first place I advise my clients to start their
scholarship search, and it's totally free.

Thanks
Kim

ps. any other advice on getting scholarships would be great. I am a
non-traditional student, my husband works so we are not eligible for
grants or anything like that

Actually, some schools and programs have grants specifically geared to
the non-traditional student - you should ask if such exist at the
schools you are applying to.


Thanks my friend,
i am african student and,i wish to complete my studies , i wonder if
that service can help me .If not please ive me any other reference if
there is .

Back to top
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Vocaboly.com Forum Index -> soc.college.financial-aid All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Office Forum Access Forum Electronics Windows Server Exchange Server
New Topics Powered by phpBB